Alcohol Laws

Atchison County

 

  • Purchase, possession, or consumption by persons under the age of twenty-one; violation, penalty.
    1. No person under twenty-one (21) years of age shall possess, consume, obtain, or purchase, or attempt to obtain or purchase, alcoholic liquor except as authorized by law.
    2. Violation of this section by a person eighteen (18) or more years of age but less than twenty-one (21) years of age is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than one hundred dollars ($100.00) nor more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00). In addition to such fine, the court may order the offender to perform forty (40) hours of public service.
  • Misrepresentation of age by persons under the age of twenty-one.
    1. No person under the age of twenty-one (21) shall represent that he or she is of age for the purpose of asking for, purchasing or receiving alcoholic liquor from any person except in cases authorized by law.
  • Consumption in public places.
    1. It shall be unlawful for any person to drink or consume alcoholic liquor upon the public streets, alleys, roads or highways, or other places to which the general public has access, whether or not an admission or other fee is charged or collected, inside vehicles while upon public streets, alleys, roads, or highways; upon property owned by the state or any governmental subdivision thereof except that this prohibition shall not apply to the Old Santa Fe Freight Depot, near Tenth and Main Streets; the Atchison Heritage Conference Center building; nor shall it apply to that room in Atchison City Hall situated adjacent to the city commission meeting room commonly referred to as the city commission conference room, nor shall it apply to the following designated areas: 400, 500 and 600 blocks of the mall for city commission-approved events; the 100 block of the River Road continuing to Independence Park for city commission-approved events; designated areas within Warnock Lake for city commission-approved events and any other areas where community celebrations are conducted upon approval of the city commission.

https://library.municode.com/ks/atchison/codes/code_of_ordinances?nodeId=PTIGEOR_CH5ALBE

 

State of Kansas

 

It is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to possess, consume, obtain or purchase alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage in Kansas, except as authorized by law. The Kansas Liquor Control Act (pdf) by the Kansas Department of Revenue Alcoholic Beverage Control provides detailed information regarding purchase or consumption of alcoholic beverage by minor in Chapter 41-727.