Political Science Majors 2017

Students Declare Political Science Major

Published: Thursday, February 16, 2017

New Political Science Majors at Benedictine College

Twenty-four Benedictine College students declared their political science major in a ceremony at the college on February 10. This is the fourth year the Political Science Department has held such a public event.  There are now approximately 60 political science majors in all years. 

“This is a significant moment in the lives of these students,” explained Department Chair John F. Settich, PhD. “The signing ceremony celebrates their academic focus. I am proud of them and I am grateful to Dr. Bill Raymond, again, the top recruiter among the departmental faculty.”   Two students were unable to attend the ceremony, which was followed by a reception.

Dr. Settich is a 1969 political science graduate from St. Benedict’s College and is now in his 19th year teaching at Benedictine. Dr. Raymond is the other full-time faculty member. He had a distinguished Army career, which included the directorship of the Command and General Staff College at Fort Leavenworth, Kan. Dr. Raymond is now in his fourth year at Benedictine. Dr. Frank Kessler, Dr. Susan Traffas and Dr. Kimberly Shankman, Dean of the College, all teach political science courses on a part-time basis.  

Founded in 1858, Benedictine College is a Catholic, Benedictine, residential, liberal arts college located on the bluffs above the Missouri River in Atchison, Kansas.  The school is proud to have been named one of America’s Best Colleges by U.S. News & World Report as well as one of the top Catholic colleges in the nation by First Things magazine and the Newman Guide.  It prides itself on outstanding academics, extraordinary faith life, strong athletic programs, and an exceptional sense of community and belonging.  It has a mission to educate men and women within a community of faith and scholarship.