Benedictine College Announces 2012 Presidential Scholars

  • Friday, March 09, 2012

Atchison, Kan. – Benedictine College has announced the winners of its 2012 Presidential Scholars Competition.  This year, the annual academic contest awarded ten President’s Scholarships good for 100% of tuition and five Dean’s Scholarships good for 75% of tuition, each renewable for four years.  Over the standard four-year college career, each Presidential Scholarship is estimated to be worth more than $90,000, and a Dean’s Scholarship is worth over $67,000.

Pete Helgesen, dean of enrollment management, noted that the competition attracted the largest field in its history, with 275 students from 31 states competing for the 15 prizes.  To qualify for the competition, prospects must have an ACT score of 27 or an SAT score of 1210, a cumulative GPA of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, and must be admitted to Benedictine College by January 15 of the year.  The Office of Admission invites qualified individuals to take part in the competition, which is traditionally held on a weekend in February.  The competition includes faculty interviews and an essay and the Benedictine College Honors Committee determines the results.

“This year’s group actually had an average ACT score of 29.67 and an average GPA of 3.88,” said Helgesen.  “Not only are we attracting more students, but they are also high achievers.”

Founded in 1858, Benedictine College is a Catholic, Benedictine, residential, liberal arts college located on the bluffs above the Missouri River in Atchison, Kansas.  The school is proud to have been named one of America’s Best Colleges by U.S. News & World Report and one of the top Catholic colleges in the nation by First Things magazine and the Newman Guide.  It prides itself on outstanding academics, extraordinary faith life, strong athletic programs, and an exceptional sense of community and belonging.  It has a mission to educate men and women within a community of faith and scholarship.

Presidential Scholars:
Christina Barth – home schooled, Salem, OR
Tylynn Davis – St. Andrew’s School, Helena, MT
John Denton – Mt. Michael Benedictine, Omaha, NE
Andreas Fritz – home schooled, Ripley, TN
Sydney Giefer – International High School, military overseas
Catherine Glenn – Mercy High School, Omaha, NE
Mary Catherine Meyer –Duschense High School, Littleton, CO
Mark Mullen – Chaminade High School, St. Louis, MO
Carlyn Olson – Blue Valley High School, Olsburg, KS
Alexander Rohm – Mother of Divine Grace High School, Nashua, NH

Dean’s Scholars:
Megan Callaghan – John F. Kennedy High School, Holmes, NY
Kara Hines – Shawnee Mission East High School, Prairie Village, KS
Katherine Schaefer – Cor Jesu Academy, St. Louis, MO
Sarah Spellins – Mount Saint Mary’s Academy, Little Rock, AR
Marie Wathen – St. Pius X High School, Lincoln, NE